Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto

Main Content

Rotman Graduates Honoured for Achievements in Marketing, Healthcare, Finance and Professional services.

December 10, 2018

Toronto – November was a rewarding month for women graduates of the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management as five were honoured with awards for their achievements.

Maya Lange, MBA ’02, vice-president, global marketing, Destination BC, was named Canada's 2018 Marketer of the Year by the Canadian Marketing Association (CMA) at the CMA Awards Gala on November 23. In her role she is responsible for marketing British Columbia tourism to the world via the Super, Natural, British Columbia brand. She has a proven track record of managing strong brands locally and internationally leading digital and content marketing programs in Canada, the United States, Germany and France.

A Rotman School graduate was named to the inaugural list of 100 Canadian Women Leaders in Global Health from the Canadian Society for International Health, which was published in November. The list not only recognizes the achievements and expertise of women in global health but also serves as a resource for conference organizers, journal editors, media, government and funding agencies who are looking for female experts in the area.

Raman Sohal, MBA’13, is a Senior Strategy Advisor at North Star Alliance. She has worked for several international development agencies ranging from multilateral agencies to implementing organizations providing health services delivery for underserved and last mile populations in lower- and middle-income countries, including UN Women and the International Development Research Centre.

Four Rotman School graduates are among one hundred prominent women named to the Women’s Executive Network (WXN) list of Canada’s Most Powerful Women for 2018. The awards were presented at a gala dinner in Toronto on November 22.

Carol Banducci, BCom ’82, received the HSBC Corporate Executives award. She is Executive Vice-President & Chief Financial Officer, IAMGOLD Corporation and oversees all aspects of finance, information technology and investor relations and helps drive corporate strategy. In 2016, she partnered with the University of Toronto’s department of psychiatry to launch a fundraising initiative for the prevention and early detection of mental illness in young people.

Linda Blair, MBA ’03, received the KPMG Professionals award. She is currently Managing Partner for Deloitte in Ontario and has over 15 years of consulting leadership experience, particularly in large-scale transformational projects and IT integration in the health sector. She is known as a leader in transforming Canada’s health care system.

Silvia Montefiore BCom ’88, received the KPMG Professionals award. She is Canadian Managing Partner, Business Enablement and Operations (Chief Operating Officer) for KPMG LLP. Her previous roles includes Business Leader, of KPMG’s Technology, Media & Telecommunications (TMT) Audit practice in Toronto and National Sector Leader of KPMG’s Lottery and Gaming practice. She is also a member of the Management Committee for KPMG in Canada.

Beth Wilson, BCom'91, received the KPMG Professionals award. She is Canada Chief Executive Officer for Dentons Canada LLP. Prior to joining Dentons Canada in 2017, she led KPMG Canada's Toronto office, its largest business unit. For many years, she served as a member of KPMG's Management Committee and in various leadership positions, including Canadian Managing Partner Community Leadership, Canadian Managing Partner Regions & Enterprise (with responsibility for 24 regional offices across Canada), and Chief Human Resources Officer. She also held leadership roles globally.

In addition, ten other women who graduated from the Rotman School’s Executive Programs, The Judy Project or the Directors Education Program were honoured.

  • Dagmara Fijalkowski. Head, Global Fixed Income & Currencies, Senior Vice President, Senior Portfolio Manager, RBC Global Asset Management Inc.
  • Françoise Gagnon, Chief Executive Officer, ADGA Group
  • Julia Hanigsberg, President and CEO, Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital
  • Veni Iozzo, Executive Vice-President, Communications, Public Affairs & Workplace Transformation, CIBC
  • Maureen Jensen, Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Ontario Securities Commission
  • Lisa Lyons Johnston, President and Publisher, Kids Can Press
  • Michèle Maheux, Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer, Toronto International Film Festival
  • Shelley Martin, President & Chief Executive Officer, Nestlé Canada Inc.
  • Claudette McGowan,  CIO, Enterprise Technology Employee Experience, BMO Financial Group
  • Heather McPherson, Executive Vice President, Patient Care & Ambulatory Innovation, Women's College Hospital.

The Rotman School of Management is part of the University of Toronto, a global centre of research and teaching excellence at the heart of Canada’s commercial capital. Rotman is a catalyst for transformative learning, insights and public engagement, bringing together diverse views and initiatives around a defining purpose: to create value for business and society. For more information, visit


For more information:

Ken McGuffin
Manager, Media Relations
Rotman School of Management
University of Toronto
Voice 416.946.3818

© Rotman School of ManagementAASCB