Main Content

Rotman Faculty and Students honoured at Academy of Management Conference

Toronto, August 25, 2011 - Eight faculty members and students from the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management were honoured at the Academy of Management conference held earlier this month in San Antonio, TX.

Prof. Joel Baum, who is associate dean, faculty, at the Rotman School, received the Distinguished Scholar Award from the Academy’s Organization and Management Theory Division. The award is given to scholars whose contributions have been central to the intellectual development of the field of organization studies. Prof. Baum was also elected a Fellow of the Academy of Management. This all-Academy honour recognizes members of the Academy of Management who have made significant contributions to the science and practice of management.

Prof. Baum has published widely on the topics of inter-firm competition and cooperation, organizational learning, and industry evolution. He has served as Editor-in-Chief of Advances in Strategic Management, an editorial board member at numerous academic management journals, and is a Founding Editor of Strategic Organization.

In other news from the conference, Prof. Christopher Liu’s dissertation “Spatial Networks, Knowledge Production, and Performance” was a finalist for the Wiley-Blackwell Outstanding Dissertation Award.

A paper by Keyvan Vakili, a Rotman PhD student, titled “Strategic Patenting and the Tragedy of Anticommons: A Closer Look at Firms’ Patenting Behavior,” was selected as one of the Business Policy and Strategy Division’s Best Papers and the Best Paper Among Doctoral Students.

A paper co-authored by Prof. John Trougakos and PhD students Ivona Hideg and Bonnie Cheng) won the Organizational Behaviour Division’s Best Paper Award for their paper titled, "Lunch Breaks Unpacked: The Effect of Daily Lunch Break Activities and Control Over Break on Fatigue".

A book co-authored by Prof. Mihnea Moldoveanu and Dean Roger Martin was named as a finalist for the George R. Terry Book Award. Diaminds: Decoding the Mental Habits of Successful Thinkers was published by Rotman/UTPress, 2010. The Terry Award is granted annually to the book judged to have made the most outstanding contribution to the advancement of management knowledge. At last year’s conference, Dean Roger Martin’s book, The Design of Business: Why Design Thinking is the Next Competitive Advantage, published by Harvard Business Press, 2009, was a finalist for the same award.

The Academy of Management is a leading professional association for scholars dedicated to creating and disseminating knowledge about management and organizations. Founded in 1936, the Academy of Management is the oldest and largest scholarly management association in the world.